News - OPL 2017 FINALS - Joint Winners declared - CISTEL CHARGERS and OBJEX Strikers share prize
View News

OPL 2017 FINALS - Joint Winners declared - CISTEL CHARGERS and OBJEX Strikers share prize

09/05/2017POSTED BY Ajit Thomas

OPL 2017 FINALS - Joint Winners declared - CISTEL CHARGERS and OBJEX Strikers share prize

Despite the rain that played spoilsport at the Monday OPL 2017 finals, the tournament ended on a positive note with team owners Dr. Nishith Goel and Mazhar Choudhry agreeing to a decision that saw undefeated team CISTEL Chargers jointly share the Masih-Uppal Cup with the OBJEX Strikers. The $ 3000 in cash prizes was divided in half and given to both teams. Dr. Goel generously donated his winnings back to his team to share - thank you very much Sir.

OPL 2017 was marked with breathtaking individual performances and superb demonstrations of sportsmanship and cricketing spirit. Whether it was owners agreeing to rain-shortened matches, professional umpiring throughout, good food, laughter and camaraderie from the players, wives and fans was on full display making the tournament great fun for everyone. In the do-or-die qualifier, OVCC and Supergiants standout player Varun Harish epitomized the spirit of cricket by calling back the Junior Haris Chishti after running him out for backing up. Well done to Varun and Richie for showing outstanding sportsmanship!!! That is really what OPL is all about.

In the final analysis, Krishna Chauhan was declared MVP for the tournament as he pummeled his way to 212 runs and scooped up 5 wickets from 5 matches. The brilliant young Haris Chaudhry from Canterbury was at his mercurial best silkily caressing his way to 216 runs from a scant 4 matches to take the Best Batsman Award. The wily veteran Lushan Silva snagged 8 wickets to win the Best Bowler Award. Congratulations to all the ICCC trophy winners.

Framed by the spectacular backdrop of Rideau Hall, the Tigers Abdallah Muhammad displayed the full breadth of his outrageous talent with a master class in batting when he broke Warriors hearts as he rampaged his way to a chanceless 123* off 39 balls. Facing a high quality bowling attack consisting of OVCC strike bowlers Akber Hussein and Zain Mahmood, the unflappable Abdallah made light work of the asking rate of 185 in 16 overs to finish with an over to spare. Across the City at Lynda Lane, the southpaw Krishna Chauhan smacked 99 in 40 balls off a strong Apex bowling lineup to bring Supergiants back into Day 2. Other noteworthy performances came from Zain Mahmood (107), Akber Hussein (85), Suranjan (85), Ayoub Ahmadzai (84), Richie Kapoor (75). Well done to all.

Thanks to the Indo-Canadian Community Centre (ICCC) for sponsoring our trophies. Sincere thanks to all the volunteers, umpires and helpers who gave their time so generously. This tournament is honestly not possible without you. Thank you to Aahar Restaurants for sponsoring our tournament and providing the food on both days.

Thank you to Shailesh Masih & Jack Uppal for providing the Masih-Uppal OPL cup. The team winner(s) of the Cup this year are the 2017 KINGS OF CRICKET.

Most importantly thank you to the team owners. Without your generous support and financial contribution, OPL cannot happen. I would like to thank

Rajiv Bhatia - Phoenix Homes
Rahim Karimi - APEX Home Services
Shailesh Masih & Jack Uppal
Mazhar Choudhry - Objex Inc.
Tariq Sikander
Dr. Nishith Goel - Cistel
Akram Syed - Quality Homes Team
Richie Kapoor & Deepak Singh - The Granite Shop

Yours sincerely,

Dr. Ajit Thomas
President, OVCC

You can also enter comments by CricClubs Login